SMSF adviser logo

Finalists revealed for 35th Fund Manager of the Year Awards

By Reporter
May 22 2023
2 minute read
35th fmoya awards 2023 sr re7hcp
expand image

A total of 95 finalists have been chosen to battle it out for 21 individual and group awards at the Fund Manager of the Year Awards 2023, hosted by SMSF Adviser’s sister brand Money Management.

Now in its 35th year, the Fund Manager of the Year Awards black-tie ceremony will be held at The Star in Sydney on Thursday 22 June 2023, with the support of research partner Lonsec. Click here to buy your tickets.

A total of 95 finalists have been selected to compete across 18 group and three individual award categories.


Click here to view the full list of finalists.

Lonsec has handpicked the august group award finalists using a range of metrics which can be found here.

One fund manager will be the recipient of the coveted 2023 Fund Manager of the Year award at the ceremony this year.

In 2021 this award was given to Hyperion Asset Management after it won both the Australian Large Cap Equities and Australian Small/Mid Cap Equities awards.

Finalists in the category this year are BlackRock Investment Management (Australia), Franklin Templeton Australia, Lazard Asset Management, Macquarie Asset Management, and VanEck.

Phil Tarrant, managing editor of real estate and financial services, congratulated the finalists on their hard work and achievements.

“The Fund Manager of the Year Awards has built a strong history of celebrating the best and brightest in the industry over the past three and a half decades. It is our pleasure to mark 35 years of the awards program with a gala ceremony,” Mr Tarrant said.

“I’m impressed by the calibre of the fund management group finalists this year, who have gone above and beyond for their clients in a challenging economic environment. It is now more important than ever to recognise the great work being done by the funds management industry across the board.”

Individual finalists’ submissions will be delivered to a panel of respected judges, including professional leaders and businesses, as well as Lonsec.

They will assess each submission against the criteria of each award category.

The judges will score each part of the submission across the category’s criteria, giving an aggregated score. A number of judges will individually assess each submission for each category, offering a blended score and assessment.

The combined judging scores for each submission for each category are tabulated, with the highest scoring submission deemed the winner.

The Fund Manager of the Year Awards ceremony will bring together the industry’s top performing fund managers, providing attendees with the opportunity to celebrate with the leading figures of Australia’s financial services and funds management industries.

The ceremony is an opportunity to celebrate senior professionals, boutique funds, equity funds, real estate and property securities funds, innovators, business development managers, the most impactful marketing teams and individuals, as well as the rising stars of tomorrow.

Click here to view the full list of finalists.

Winners of the 2023 Fund Manager of the Year Awards will be announced on Thursday 22 June 2023 at a black-tie gala awards ceremony at The Star in Sydney.

Click here to buy tickets to the awards ceremony.

For more information about the awards program, including categories, click here.

You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member for free today!